Member Login

Forgot password?
Swimming Otago homepage

SI Country & Town Competition

Over the weekend 31 Otago swimmers competed at the South Island Country and Town Championships held at Splash Palace in Invercargill. Overall, our Otago swimmers earned 70 medals and smashed over 140 personal best times; resulting in Otago being awarded the trophy for Top Region. This is an incredible effort, and Swimming Otago would like to congratulate each and
every one of our swimmers that participated at this meet and contributed to this impressive result; we are very proud of you all.

But Otago wasn’t the only one that came home with a trophy. Kiwi Swim Club was awarded the trophy for Top Club in the 6 Swimmers or Less category, accumulating 243 points overall with only 5 swimmers! Congratulations to Kiwi and all their swimmers who attended the meet. 

Over the meet, there were a number of impressive swims and performances. A special congratulations to Keira Hughes, Benji May, Andie McGrouther, Bella Nicol, Claudia Park, Nevaeh Reddy, Emma Rees, Nicholas Roy, Anthony Sim, Georgia Spillane, Taka Sugiyama, Hannah Tait, Ariana Webb, and Brooke Webb, who maintained a 100% PB rate throughout the meet in those events they competed in.

Above this, there were a large number of swimmers who beat their personal best times by an astonishing amount, which really demonstrates all the hard work they have been putting in at training leading up to this event. Congratulations, you should be proud of what you have achieved.

The swimmers who attend South Island Town and Country Championships were: Isabella Aitken, Piper Bamford, Kylie Gale, Kayla Gibbs, Madeleine Harvey, Grace Haydon, Keira Hughes, Leilani Jones, Benji May, Joshua Maze, Abby McBride, Ella McBride, Andie McGrouther, Jessica McKenzie, Bella Nicol. Jessie O’Hara, Ellie Olsen-Vetland, Claudia Park, Emma Rees, Nevaeh Reddy, Bridget Roy, Lachlan Roy, Nicholas Roy, Anthony Sim, Georgia Spillane, Meila Spriggs, Taka Sugiyama, Hannah Tait, Ariana Webb, Brooke Webb, and Jessica Yee.

Congratulations to you all!