Member Login

Forgot password?
Swimming Otago homepage

NZ Short Course Championships

Over 700 athletes from more than 100 clubs from around New Zealand, and more than 50 International competitors, descended on the Sir Owen G Glenn Aquatic Centre, to compete for the honours up for grabs at the 2018 NZ Short Course Championships. Otago members included;

Kiwi ASC - Oliver Walker, David Cannon, Olivia Andrew

Neptune Swim Club - Ben Carr, Nicholas Pryde, Natalie Hutchens, Zoe McCane, Nicole Heaton, Molly Law, Isabella Gold, Gabby White, Gabrielle Trotter, Caitlin Deans

Oamaru Swimming Club - Corbin Fraser, Rhys Charles, Charlie Gilbert, Elenoa Asi, Jorgia McDiarmid-Jones, Alice Petrie, Tiana Mansfield

Queentown Swimming Club - Isaak Frewen

Taieri Swimming Club - Jemma Wilson, Jordan Summers

Zenith ASC - Emma Christophers, Meg Christophers, Charlotte Hewson, Esme Paterson, Katie Short

Elevation Athletics - Samuel Williet (USA)

Swimming Otago athletes were among the contenders, with some outstanding new personal best times, some set new Regional Records (to be ratified), a new NZ Age Group Record and many of our athletes gained places in the tough evening Open finals.

There were several amazing performances at the meet, none more so than Caitlin Deans (Neptune), bringing home gold in four events (200, 400, 800 and 1500m Freestyle), an NZ Age Group Record for her 16:25.17 swim in the 1500m Freestyle, along with Regional Records in the 400m and 800m Freestyle events (to be ratified). To top off Caitlins meet, she earned a spot on the NZ Team heading to the 2018 FINA World Short Course Championships in Hangzhou later this year with a FINA 'A' qaulifying time in 800m Freestyle and FINA 'B; times in 200m and 400m Freestyle events. Congratulations Caitlin!!

Other medalist were:

Molly Law (Neptune); Gold 100m Freestyle, Silver 100m Individual Medley, Bronze 200m Individual Medley and 50m Freestyle

Jordan Summers (Taieri); Bronze 200m Breaststroke and 400m Individual Medley

Nicohlas Pryde (Neptune); 1500m Freestyle

Congratulations to all Otago athletes on your acheivements at this event, a real testament to your hard work and dedication. Thank you to our management teams, you do a fantastic job supporting, feeding and ferrying our athletes aroujnd during the course of the week. Special thanks to our Technical Officials, Mary McFarlene and Alan Hale, for flying the Otago flag througout the event.

Congratulations to you all on an awesome meet!

Full results can be found here